Question about Sidechain Compression in FL, and routing
You are Unregistered, please register to gain Full access.    
Advertisements

The Studio All discussions relating to sound design, mixing techniques, music theory, composition, and gear.

Old 04-02-2014, 12:26 AM   #1
iStarfox
Microknight
iStarfox is a glorious beacon of lightiStarfox is a glorious beacon of lightiStarfox is a glorious beacon of lightiStarfox is a glorious beacon of lightiStarfox is a glorious beacon of light
Ireland
MC Status: 460
Question about Sidechain Compression in FL, and routing

Im new to FL so still getting my head around it. There are many ways to Sidechain including using those envelope shapers which is not actually sidechaining technically but I do it the conventional way and I am using FabFilter C to do it. I create my kick (sidechain) track and select 'sidechain to this track only' on the mixer, its routed to, say a Pad track for example and on that track I have FabFilter C and I will sidechain it using the signal from the Kick.

Now, 2 questions.

1. Can I use the same Kick sidechain channel to sidechain more than one instrument using the same method or is this method exclusively for the track I selected? Coming from Logic Pro I am used to using the one sidechain track to sidechain every instrument I need to which saves the need to keep creating endless amounts of sidechain tracks which seems logical. Im sure there is a way to do this Im just not seeing it, otherwise envelop shapers it is...

2. When I choose sidechain 'to this channel only' how do I undo this step? Because there doesn't seem to be a way or if there is its very confusing to figure out.

Thanks for your help
Much appreciated, very wow

Advertisements

iStarfox is offline   Thanks Reply With Quote
Old 04-02-2014, 12:50 AM   #2
joem
Savage Mad Cunt