IDMf - Electronic Music & Production Forum - IDMforums.com

IDMf - Electronic Music & Production Forum - IDMforums.com (https://www.idmforums.com/index.php)
-   Modular software & programming (https://www.idmforums.com/forumdisplay.php?f=167)
-   -   How to make VST/AU? (https://www.idmforums.com/showthread.php?t=112926)

Dugg Funnie 05-10-2012 12:23 AM

How to make VST/AU?
 
Yo IDMf,


I'm thinking about getting into VST creation and development, was wondering if you guys had any input to offer as to how to get started. The questions I have so far are as follows:

What programing language or languages are most commonly used to make VST plug-ins (Java, Pd, C++, etc...)
Where could I learn more about the programming skills I would specifically need for this endeavour?
if I were to start making some serious plug-ins how could I go about making visually appealing GUI's/does anybody know good resources or even independent artists who can do that sort of thing
And lastly if I were to start doing this would people here be willing to help me out with beta testing and feedback to help me improve my product?

scyn 05-10-2012 07:19 AM

Re: How to make VST/AU?
 
There was a very brief discussion [Only registered and activated mad cunts can see links. Click Here To Register...] fwiw.

penguinoid 18-10-2012 08:03 AM

Re: How to make VST/AU?
 
I think primarily people tend to code in C++, as most of the Steinberg SDK seems to be C++ based. Probably the safest bet.

I/O_Madness 18-10-2012 11:14 PM

Re: How to make VST/AU?
 
[Only registered and activated mad cunts can see links. Click Here To Register...]

DIrtySinatra 31-10-2012 01:05 PM

Re: How to make VST/AU?
 
Synth Maker is pretty good to get an understanding how synthesizers work.. Just remember that if your trying to make a synth for commercial use your up against 1000s of others plus 10,000s of others who are letting them out for free.. If you are going to go down this route, make sure its for yourself.. I get the feeling your grasp of synthesis isn't the best because there's almost nothing the top 5-10 digital synths cant do out there..

Also you can expect to be writing in excess of 000s lines of code, let alone designing wave tables, modular algorithms, design and playability etc.. If you feel up to it I would love to give you support.. CSound is an audio language.. Have a look..

Dugg Funnie 31-10-2012 06:34 PM

Re: How to make VST/AU?
 
I'm looking more at working more in creating effects/filters than specifically synthesizers. I'm well aware of the inherent power of synths, I have just have some, in my opinion, unique ideas for plug-ins and I'm planning to try and build a business around them. And I'm learning C and CSound because I think it'll be the easiest way for me to port to VST and AU.

Plus one of my professors at Berklee was Richard Boulanger, the guy who wrote the CSound Book so I think that could definitely prove beneficial in terms of makin this happen.

Thanks for the support either way, if I have questions I'll definitely send 'em your way too, I fully expect this isn't going to just be some weekend DIY project and I'm in it for the long-haul!!!!!1!

mibix 03-11-2012 02:51 PM

Re: How to make VST/AU?
 
I recommend [Only registered and activated mad cunts can see links. Click Here To Register...] for the framework. It's in C++ but can compile VST, AU, Standalone, RTAS etc from the same source code. There is a cost to releasing a commercial synth. If you don't want to pay any fees it would probably be the vstsdk route.

Dugg Funnie 03-11-2012 03:02 PM

Re: How to make VST/AU?
 
Is that the SDK specifically from Steinberg? And big up on JUCE, definitely going to look into that. I think I'm going to be doing the programming in CSound and maybe regular C++, any idea on which would be the most efficient way? I know with CSound you can port straight to AU and I believe VST as well, but I'm not totally sure.

Lowbass 03-11-2012 05:58 PM

Re: How to make VST/AU?
 
interesting

[Complex] 23-12-2012 06:29 PM

Re: How to make VST/AU?
 
I think C++ is the best way, also is important to know well this languaje before attempting to make a VST synth

Maybe other good option is Java:rolleyes:

AdamThing 24-04-2016 04:53 PM

Re: How to make VST/AU?
 
im learning C++. i have an audio programming book id like to master. once i figure that out im going to use the steinberg SDK and ill be set to go. also im going to throw asio programming in there.

mute machine 10-05-2016 06:29 PM

Re: How to make VST/AU?
 
I use synthedit cause I'm a pleb.

stray medicine 31-08-2016 12:13 AM

Re: How to make VST/AU?
 
There's a way to create MIDI applications using Unity, if anyone is interested. I figured out how to get MIDI input using this awesome package from Kejiro Takahashi that's free

[Only registered and activated mad cunts can see links. Click Here To Register...]

Using Unity would probably be a lot easier than just diving into scripting a vst on your own. This is something I really want to do, there are a few ideas I have for midi applications that I think could be created easily through Unity. If I do get around to making some I'll post em on here.

jjmcclear248 15-07-2018 08:45 PM

Re: How to make VST/AU?
 
I would love to recreate the Ensoniq DP4+, as a plugin. It was a great effects processor. That probably gets into a whole different world though... remodeling the circuits, etc. Like Roland has been doing lately.

Jesse

bu.re_ 15-07-2018 09:00 PM

Re: How to make VST/AU?
 
what about using max/msp?

jjmcclear248 15-07-2018 09:32 PM

Re: How to make VST/AU?
 
[Only registered and activated mad cunts can see links. Click Here To Register...]

I/O_Madness 15-07-2018 10:11 PM

Re: How to make VST/AU?
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by bu.re_ (Post 1479425)
what about using max/msp?

I've used Max/MSP a bit. It is pretty cool, although the topic addressed making VST/AU plugins, which Max/MSP does not do. With that said, I've done some cool things in Max/MSP, and you could perhaps do circuit modelling in Max/MSP. I've been interested in doing audio plug ins... Using Max/MSP or another language, you will need to learn a bit about programming... not to mention designing the circuit model.

I started a degree in Computer Engineering for this very reason, to do more audio plug in programming and learn about signal analysis and such. But yeah, I wanna do stuff like that.

Doing VST's you'd need Steinberg's VST SDK, which you can get off their website: [Only registered and activated mad cunts can see links. Click Here To Register...]

A.M 15-07-2018 11:46 PM

Re: How to make VST/AU?
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by I/O_Madness (Post 1479434)
Doing VST's you'd need Steinberg's VST SDK, which you can get off their website: [Only registered and activated mad cunts can see links. Click Here To Register...]

The only problem..if it's even one..is they now only offer the VST3 version, having recently dropped support for the VST2 standard completely..which kinda sucks, as..from what I've read and heard from other..VST2 kicks nine kinds of crap out of VST3, which seems to actually be a step backwards and limits VST producers a bit in ways my dumb mind has yet to understand. :rolleyes:

So yeah..you'll need the SDK..but how to get the VST2 version I don't really know..hopefully they still over if from an archive or something..or it's out there some place to download.


EDIT: Just found this posted over on their forum..looks like you can't use the VST 2 SDK at all anymore, unless you're one of those who signed a license agreement in the past with them.

"For people having already signed the license agreement for VST2 it will be possible to continue to create VST2 plug-Ins, for new developers from the 1st of October this will be not possible anymore."
[Only registered and activated mad cunts can see links. Click Here To Register...]

mibix 16-07-2018 11:15 AM

Re: How to make VST/AU?
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by A.M (Post 1479456)
The only problem..if it's even one..is they now only offer the VST3 version, having recently dropped support for the VST2 standard completely..which kinda sucks, as..from what I've read and heard from other..VST2 kicks nine kinds of crap out of VST3, which seems to actually be a step backwards and limits VST producers a bit in ways my dumb mind has yet to understand. :rolleyes:

So yeah..you'll need the SDK..but how to get the VST2 version I don't really know..hopefully they still over if from an archive or something..or it's out there some place to download.


EDIT: Just found this posted over on their forum..looks like you can't use the VST 2 SDK at all anymore, unless you're one of those who signed a license agreement in the past with them.

"For people having already signed the license agreement for VST2 it will be possible to continue to create VST2 plug-Ins, for new developers from the 1st of October this will be not possible anymore."
[Only registered and activated mad cunts can see links. Click Here To Register...]

Their VST3 SDK contains wrappers to compile VST2 plugins: [Only registered and activated mad cunts can see links. Click Here To Register...]

Like you say it may be against T&Cs however.

A.M 16-07-2018 11:43 AM

Re: How to make VST/AU?
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by mibix (Post 1479500)
Their VST3 SDK contains wrappers to compile VST2 plugins: [Only registered and activated mad cunts can see links. Click Here To Register...]

Like you say it may be against T&Cs however.

Yeah..you're spot on..it can be done..just won't be legal anymore, unless you're one of those who made VST2 plugins before they introduced VST3, which I guess the wrappers are there so those folks can maintain their products with updates and the likes.

But it seems like they are more or less forcing developers to move on to the new VST3 SDK..even though many don't like it and think it's not as good as the old VST2 version.


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 04:56 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.