Getting Underruns/Clicks Recording Synth to PC
You are Unregistered, please register to gain Full access.    
Advertisements

Sound Design, Mixing, & Studio Techniques Need to know how to make a specific sound? Want to improve your mix? Need advice on micing-up a drum kit? This is the area for you.

Old 27-06-2017, 03:49 PM   #1
ambtconnoisseur
Minor Glitch
ambtconnoisseur is a jewel in the roughambtconnoisseur is a jewel in the roughambtconnoisseur is a jewel in the roughambtconnoisseur is a jewel in the rough
Maryland
MC Status: 310
Getting Underruns/Clicks Recording Synth to PC

Hey all,

I have a newbie question here, as I am new to working with hardware and only have an elementary knowledge of the home studio recording process. My question is, what do you do if you are getting underruns/clicks in your synth recordings to a PC? Here's my setup: 2 year old craptop (was originally about $650, 8 GBs of memory, okay Intel CPU), okay mixer (Behringer Xenyx X1222 w/audio interface), Novastation MiniNova synth connected via USB, and 2 brand new balanced TRS cables (from synth to mixer). My recording process is very simplified in order to use less resources on my laptop: I close out all unnecessary processes/programs, open Audacity (though I do have Ableton Live 9), and start recording my synth. It's usually only about 2-3 underruns/clicks that I can notice for every 5 minutes of recording, but I have to zoom way in on the wave in Audacity to spot them and smooth them out, which is very annoying. What can I do to avoid this besides investing in a MacBook Pro (sort of joking)? I have only about $400-500 if I need to invest in additional hardware.

Thanks,
ambtconnoisseur

Advertisements

ambtconnoisseur is offline   Thanks Reply With Quote
Old 27-06-2017, 08:28 PM   #2
Evelon
IDMf Artist