Music Theory Question
You are Unregistered, please register to gain Full access.    
Advertisements

Music Theory & Composition Questions & comments about composition, arrangement, and music theory. Music rules and how to follow or break them.

Old 01-08-2013, 02:46 PM   #1
discodance
Regular Freak
discodance is currently spamming hard
Melbourne
MC Status: 10
Music Theory Question

I don't have a musical background and as a result I have zero knowledge of any musical theory. So my question is, do bass lines and melodies stick to a scale. I've noticed when I mess around in the piano roll it can take me ages to hit a harmonic note and I'm wondering if it's due to my ignorance. I've been told you don't need to learn any theory to produce electronic music, however I'm starting to believe that isn't the best advice.

Advertisements

discodance is offline   Thanks Reply With Quote
Old 01-08-2013, 03:44 PM   #2
Mindsweeper
★VIP MEGA EURO STAR★
Mindsweeper is a savage MCMindsweeper is a savage MCMindsweeper is a savage MCMindsweeper is a savage MCMindsweeper is a savage MCMindsweeper is a savage MCMindsweeper is a savage MCMindsweeper is a savage MCMindsweeper is a savage MCMindsweeper is a savage MCMindsweeper is a savage MC
BUTTFUCKSVILLE
MC Status: 262786029
Thanked 2,927 Times in 1,770 Posts
Re: Music Theory Question

You don't need any theory to produce electronic music...

But that doesn't mean that it wouldn't help you a ton.

We live in the information age, take advantage of it!
Mindsweeper is offline   Thanks Reply With Quote
Old 01-08-2013, 03:54 PM   #3
Evelon
IDMf Artist
Evelon is a savage MCEvelon is a savage MCEvelon is a savage MCEvelon is a savage MCEvelon is a savage MCEvelon is a savage MCEvelon is a savage MCEvelon is a savage MCEvelon is a savage MCEvelon is a savage MCEvelon is a savage MC
MC Status: 214389998
Thanked 2,831 Times in 1,764 Posts