[Tutorial] How to make Drums pop even without compression
You are Unregistered, please register to gain Full access.    
Advertisements

Tutorials Section Found or written an interesting tutorial recently? Share it here.

Old 19-01-2014, 01:40 AM   #1
Grenade Freak
Granular Poster
Grenade Freak is a jewel in the roughGrenade Freak is a jewel in the roughGrenade Freak is a jewel in the roughGrenade Freak is a jewel in the rough
SC
MC Status: 310
[Tutorial] How to make Drums pop even without compression

Firstly I am not a expert mixer but wanted to share a technique I use to make my drums pop harder without compressers well sort of. I'm useing ableton so I'll be using drum rack.

1. Download Flux Bittersweet: [Only registered and activated users can see links. Click here to register]

You'll have to sign up for the newsletter.

2. Once downloaded and installed, open ableton, now open drum rack.

3. put the samples you want to use in the rack slots.

(Optional) 4.turn the velocity up on all samples in the rack.

5. Now add a eq to your Kicks and snares. Kick should peak around 60 hz and snares 200-220 hz

6. now add flux bittersweet to your kicks and snares then turn the knob to the right it'll make the sample loud crunchy.

7. add another to flux to master of the drum rack which means dont add the effect to particular sample (You can add individual effects to individual samples in the rack by dragging an effect over the sampler)

8. Now add reverb, just a little bit unless you want more.

9. now freeze the track and drag it to a audio track

10. Finally add a limiter to the audio track as it will most likely go into the red on the volume meter.

I hope you enjoy this tutorial, again I'm a noob at tutorials so if theres anything you need help with just ask. BUT I will not spoon feed you everything, trust me I know what thats like, seeking knowledge I mean. But like my mentor once told me "Its better you learn yourself, than to rely on people".