96 PPQ is probably enough
You are Unregistered, please register to gain Full access.    
Advertisements

Your Music

IDMf Netlabel

The Studio

Community Center

Music By Genre




Groups

Reply
Thread Tools
Old 11-10-2015, 03:49 PM   #1
Nystagmus
FuzzPaddington
Nystagmus is a savage MCNystagmus is a savage MCNystagmus is a savage MCNystagmus is a savage MCNystagmus is a savage MCNystagmus is a savage MCNystagmus is a savage MCNystagmus is a savage MCNystagmus is a savage MCNystagmus is a savage MCNystagmus is a savage MC
Nystagmus's Avatar
Earth
Posts: 3,606
MC Status: 60810
Thanks: 3,101
Thanked 1,216 Times in 915 Posts
Icon4 96 PPQ is probably enough

I was just doing some more reading about DAW stuff and it turns out that using really high PPQ settings can affect CPU load.

It's interesting because many classic drum machines only had a PPQ of 96 and that's FL Studio's current default setting already.

So if you're using a program that has it set high, you can lower it and maybe get more CPU cycles back. I looked at my Reaper settings and it was 960 which I definately don't need.

If you usually quantize everything 96 is enough. But even if you don't quantize everything, 96 might still be enough. PPQ resolution only really matters for performance events that don't happen on a grid.

96 PPQ = 48 pulses per eighth note = 24 pulses per sixteenth note = 12 pulses per thirty-second note = 6 pulses per sixty-fourth note = 3 pulses per 128th note

Most people don't even go beyond 32nd notes and 3 pulses is still enough for a tiny triplet.

PPQ might matter more if you are synchronizing MIDI to film/video or using MIDI to record sound effects or lighting events happening at exact frame times.

The FL Studio info says that anything greater than 192 starts to tax the CPU.

Even for note off timings, 96 is still enough. And it's a very common number so it's compatible with a lot of other stuff.

Last edited by Nystagmus; 11-10-2015 at 10:33 PM..

Advertisements


------------------
Be a false negative of yourself!
Nystagmus is offline   Thanks Reply With Quote
Old 11-06-2016, 06:41 PM   #2
BlindfoldKnobs
Minor Glitch
BlindfoldKnobs will become famous soon enoughBlindfoldKnobs will become famous soon enough
BlindfoldKnobs's Avatar
Posts: 39
MC Status: 110
Thanks: 1
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
Re: 96 PPQ is probably enough

96 PPQ is more than enough for Dance music.
BlindfoldKnobs is offline   Thanks Reply With Quote
Old 11-06-2016, 06:45 PM   #3
relic
relic is a savage MCrelic is a savage MCrelic is a savage MCrelic is a savage MCrelic is a savage MCrelic is a savage MCrelic is a savage MCrelic is a savage MCrelic is a savage MCrelic is a savage MCrelic is a savage MC
relic's Avatar
The AK Rowdy Rowdy
Posts: 15,832
MC Status: 8484430
Thanks: 9,083
Thanked 5,870 Times in 4,218 Posts
Re: 96 PPQ is probably enough

Hey man. All this stuff is over my head, but wanted to say good to see you around again Nystagmus.
relic is offline   Thanks Reply With Quote
Thanks to relic
Nystagmus (11-25-2016)
Old 11-12-2016, 01:49 PM   #4
Parricide
.
Parricide is a savage MCParricide is a savage MCParricide is a savage MCParricide is a savage MCParricide is a savage MCParricide is a savage MCParricide is a savage MCParricide is a savage MCParricide is a savage MCParricide is a savage MCParricide is a savage MC
Parricide's Avatar
Posts: 6,164
MC Status: 18019369
Thanks: 422
Thanked 387 Times in 323 Posts
Re: 96 PPQ is probably enough

i havent got anything to add, but you did bring it to my attention that neither PPQ nor TPQN were in the A to Z. thanks! now our A to Z is officially better than the music radar one


EDIT:

i feel like i should add to the thread now though :/ for what its worth, i have never had to change any PPQ settings and i dont even know what the default settings of any DAW i use is.
i do tend to work at higher BPMs than average though, but i would imagine at the extreme end of low BPMs you might start to notice

------------------
signature loading...
Parricide is offline   Thanks Reply With Quote
Old 11-12-2016, 07:29 PM   #5
DjRapitops
DjRapitops has a reputation beyond reputeDjRapitops has a reputation beyond reputeDjRapitops has a reputation beyond reputeDjRapitops has a reputation beyond reputeDjRapitops has a reputation beyond reputeDjRapitops has a reputation beyond reputeDjRapitops has a reputation beyond reputeDjRapitops has a reputation beyond reputeDjRapitops has a reputation beyond reputeDjRapitops has a reputation beyond reputeDjRapitops has a reputation beyond repute
DjRapitops's Avatar
Helsinki
Age: 20
Posts: 153
MC Status: 2010
Thanks: 32
Thanked 40 Times in 30 Posts
Re: 96 PPQ is probably enough

I did wonder what that setting was actually doing and why it affected CPU load, thanks!

Advertisements


------------------
DjRapitops is offline   Thanks Reply With Quote

96 PPQ is probably enough Tags
compatibility, cpu load, daw optimization, ppq, ppqn
Reply


Thread Tools

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 01:28 PM.


Electronic Music Forums

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.